humor, life, love, mothers, motivation

The joys of motherhood

Growing up I always knew I wanted to be an at-home-mom. Throughout my  childhood I always heard my mom say how guilty she felt for never being able to go on field trips with us.  Never being able to come up to our school for lunches or activities with us due to her job.  So I KNEW i didn’t want to have her same regrets.  I’d be home with my babies and be able to see and  be a part of every step they make. Well,  now I’m an adult and I have my two lil ones and all I can think is “GET ME OUTTA HERE”!! I have to battle feelings of guilt sometimes  because I dont feel the way i “think”  i should feel about being a mother.  Yes I love my children & yes im a good mother to my children; but when people ask” dont you just LOVE being a mom”? My answer is and will always be…. Heck naw!

FB_IMG_1435119986962

I feel guilty about that because you see and watch other moms who seem to relish the title of  being a mom.  They can tell you an abundance of their favorite moments.  They can list all their kids best quirks and qualities.  All i can tell you is my baby once again woke up 12 times last  night and my toddler once again through all her lego’s in the toilet. Being a parent theres a never ending struggle trying to survive. Not to mention the unnecessary stress of people giving you unsolicited advice and/or taking liberties with your children that you dont agree with… like kissing your child on the lips 😠

Tho I dont have an overjoyed attitude at the title of being a mom I do recognize how Ive changed after becoming a mom. Being a mom has helped me to step up “my game” with myself. Im naturally shy and usually take every opportunity to avoid crowds and anything that makes me standout.  But being a mom forces me to take the lead and have the courage to walk into uncomfortable situations especially when I have my little girl right beside me watching me.  It forces me to get up in a crowd when I have to rush her to the rest room.  It makes me strive to stand taller and have more confidence in myself because I want my daughter to exhibit those qualities. I want her to be everything that I wasnt & all the things I may had been had I believed in myself. Being a mom also forced me to step out of my comfort zone and join mommy groups because I want my children to get to know and play with other little ones. It teaches you to speak up to others if you or your childs boundaries are being infringed on.

We are ALL different and each one of us have totally different personalities. Thats what I have to remember when I start comparing myself to other mommies.  Were ALL dealing with self doubts,  questions,  guilt & frustrations. So for all the mommies fathers parents…  know your not alone, do  your best & dont compare your journey to others. Your not going to be happy every moment as a parent and that’s ok. With that being said… mommihood isnt so bad and after taking a moment to reflect I do see I have joys of motherhood too 😊

Feel free to post your thoughts below.

Standard

4 thoughts on “The joys of motherhood

  1. Anquinette Herron-Dawson says:

    This story is absolutely AWESOME!!!!!! I’m glad someone have stepped up to the plate and said their true feelings about being a MOM. Like you said everyone does not feel the same way. We are all different!!!!

    Like

  2. Cheryl Jackson says:

    On Motherhood piece, Terina…I really think you have a gift, a niche, a talent for writing. How you articulate your thoughts gives me that interview into your passion for how you express yourself. Thought it was realistic, true, candid, humorous…had me crackn up when you said, “Heck naw, I don’t love motherhood! “And, wait a minute…”Get Me Outta Here!”…I was rollin’. And that’s all right. You really don’t have to love motherhood. Just love those lil ones of yours as much as you possibly can, is what’s important. L

    Like

Leave a comment