blog, inspiration, journal, life, lifestyle, motivation, personal, thoughts, women

🎵Bust A Move 🎶

Fear is defined as “a distressing emotion aroused by impending danger, evil, pain, etc., whether the threat is real or imagined.” What are you afraid of? How many of your fears are “real”?  How many of your fears are actually “imagined”? Are some of your fears perhaps due to the fear of public opinion? Like for example… I don’t dance in public. I use to think “that’s just me…That’s just who I am”. As I started reminiscing back to my childhood though I can vividly remember parties where I did dance. I even went down the “soul train line”. However somewhere down the road of life I lost my way. I lost the person I was and the person I would have become because I fell victim to others negative talk.

A lot of children are bullied, taunted and made to feel that their ugly,  stupid,  worthless and etc. Amazing how comments that were fed into your head as a child will follow you straight into adulthood. A lot of adults are STILL walking around with those same hurts from the past. It takes a strong sense of self-worth to come out stronger after being ridiculed. Thats why its so imperative that amongst other values parents instill in their children they also teach them to value themselves.

Theres nothing you can do about others being hateful or jealous in their negative talking.  Its bad enough to endure someone belittling you but I did something far worst to myself… “I believed them”. I allowed people’s comments to reach my heart and change me. FB_IMG_1438946316510

I remember looking at a shoe magazine with a friend of mine.  In the magazine were some furry boots.  She said she’d totally wear those.  I remember saying to her… “you don’t care what people think?  I’d be too sacred to wear those”. She said “that’s the thing about me… I don’t care what people think”.  At that moment it hit me.. though i’m in my 30s…”im still thinking like that scared child in school who got picked on for the shoes she was wearing”. I’m an adult now and this is NOT high school; This is MY life!  “I can do what I want!”  If I wanna wear some furry boots then dog-on I should wear them.

I truly do believe that there’s a lot of things that I don’t do and havent done simply because at the time I was too afraid & self-conscious to do it. Years have passed now and I still havent done them… like dancing in public. Am I still too afraid to dance OR have I subconsciously just gotten so use to not doing it? Maybe if I built up the courage to “get on out there” id come to learn…. im not even afraid anymore. Have I grown past my fears?

Likewise with you… maybe its time you build up the courage to do some of the things you’ve been avoiding doing for years.  You may come to find out that you too have grown past that fear and your no longer afraid 💪

FB_IMG_1434943721738

Standard

6 thoughts on “🎵Bust A Move 🎶

  1. Pingback: 🎵Bust A Move 🎶 | By the Mighty Mumford

Leave a comment